Shopping on Black Friday

And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.   John 1:14

I traveled to South Carolina for Thanksgiving to visit my newest grandbaby Aletheia Grace.  She is four weeks old today.  Aletheia is Greek for Truth….and her parents reference the above Scripture verse for her name.

Aletheia Grace

Aletheia Grace

In between her naps yesterday (Black Friday), I thought about a home that is for sale back in New Jersey in Woodbury Heights.  I haven’t gone to visit it yet, but I have already started to think about the possibilities and what if’s.

Woodbury Heights, New Jersey

Woodbury Heights, New Jersey

This is the room I am using for inspiration.

Inspiration Room - Image - Classiccasualhome.com

Inspiration Room – Image – Classiccasualhome.com

OK – so this is what the living room looks like.

OH MY

OH MY

View into the dining room

View into the dining room

The gas fireplace

The gas fireplace

If we take a look again at the inspiration room, there is a small alcove painted an accent color with shelves.  I see no value in the gas “fireplace.”  The first thing I would do is haul it out of there, paint the space that beautiful color blue, and add shelves.

Then I did some cyber Black Friday shopping to see what I could find to give this room the essence of the inspiration room.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

OR

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

A design goal is to meld the old with the new.  Whenever I can, I will do this….so an alternative to a new Joss and Main table is a table I found on Etsy.

Benhall Meadow on Etsy

Benhall Meadow on Etsy

In the pic that shows the front door and the window to the right, this is a cute bench that could go under that window for extra seating……instead of the lounger.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

I couldn’t find window treatments that were close to the inspiration room…these were the best I could find.

Overstock.com

Overstock.com

Overstock.com

Overstock.com

The inspiration room has a white wicker basket with a table lamp.  I found a lamp at Joss and Main.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

The basket wasn’t as easy.  I couldn’t come up with anything I liked….this is from Ballard Designs….they are a bit pricey.

Ballard Design - $299.00

Ballard Design – $299.00

Then there is what I found at Aletheia’s home.  Her parents forget where they got it….Marshall’s, TJ Maxx?  “One of those.”  My son was becoming suspicious when he saw me staring at it and taking pictures.  He’s afraid I will try to sneak it out when they are not looking.

Needs to be spray painted

Needs to be spray painted

It won’t be hard to find a place for this mirror.

Joss and Main

I love all of the pillows I went shopping for on Etsy.

Monderality2

Monderality2

CariJoy Designs

CariJoy Designs

CariJoy Designs

CariJoy Designs

CariJoy Designs

CariJoy Designs

a26548982ff829fb9a8a93e769fd2b59

What about the dining room and kitchen?  And the rest of the house?  I was very limited in the time I had to cyber shop yesterday….so this is as far as I got.

View into the dining room

View into the dining room

lb9bb4744-m4o

I found this dining table at Joss and Main.  It can serve a dual purpose.  It is a beautiful table to dine at, and it can serve as a desk to work at.  Depending upon the layout, it may go lengthwise in front of the window.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

I love these chairs on either end.

Joss and main

Joss and main

This rug isn’t bad – it’s the best I could do in a pinch.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

There is a hutch on the right wall as you step into the dining room.  This is what can up-date the look.  It’s a Nona Hall Table – I’m a Nona.

Joss and Main

Joss and Main

A view of the kitchen

A view of the kitchen

What to do?

Vintagemelife.blogspot

Vintagemellie.blogspot.com

This look can be achieved on the wall to the left in the kitchen.

vintagemellie.blogspot.com

vintagemellie.blogspot.com

BEFORE - vintagemellie.blogspot.com

BEFORE – vintagemellie.blogspot.com

Here is a link to the Pinterest board that links to all of the cyber shops that I visited.

http://www.pinterest.com/innovasionstyle/woodbury-heights/

This is Nona and Aletheia Grace signing off.

551323_10151968595438158_588087127_n (2)

Aletheia’s Birthday – November 2, 2013

Best, Theresa

A Mid Twentieth Century Girl Doing Business in a 21st Century World

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Shopping on Black Friday

  1. cheryl

    Love this blog. Love how you incorporated the baby and the house redo. Like the look of both! One of my favs from scripture,,,Word began flesh…says it all.

Leave a Reply

