A Stroll Down My Mother’s Memory Lane

Held Up Head – Second Week

Happy Mother’s Day

Honest, I am the most disoranized, I have no idea where anything is, I have a basement, garage and shop full of stuff, nothing of real sentimental value that has been passed down….my mother saved nothing (well actually, there wasn’t anything to save), I have no idea where all of the olds photos are….but I have my baby book and I knew exactly where it was when I looked for it this morning.

Circa 1950 - the year I was born

Circa 1950 – the year I was born

I was born during a simpler time….what does that mean?  When it came to knowing how to take care of your new baby, you were given a book to take home.  No ordering books on line at Amazon or Barnes & Noble, no TV shows on the subject, and certainly no internet because PC’s, iPad’s or cell phones as yet were to be conceived.  And because women’s hospital stays were a lot longer then than they are now, you had time to read before you left the hospital.  You were not driven out of the hospital because insurance companies did not drive the length of your stay.  At that time, time in the hospital after giving birth was a minimum of one week….rich or poor.

The book has 80 pages, and appears to have covered all of the bases for what you needed to know about caring for a healthy baby.

There was no question at that time, that this baby’s life was being entrusted to this loving mother and father.

A LIFE In Your Hands

A LIFE In Your Hands

“Children can be one of the greatest satisfactions in life.  They can give their parents more happiness and also more fun than anything else.  Around children develop many home interests that keep the parents together and help maintain their youth and their joy in living.”

Your NEW Baby

Your NEW Baby

“A young mother and father need the doctor’s help in planning for the health of their baby.  It is a good plan to make the doctor the general adviser and to ask him all questions about the baby.  Often he will give a definite answer to a puzzling problem; sometimes just talking over a problem with the doctor may help the mother to find her own answer.

Your Doctor is Important

Your Doctor is Important

“Before the first baby arrives in a family, the mother and father will want to have a talk about the kind of home they would like to have in which to bring up this baby and also the other children they hope for some day.”

Give Your Baby a GOOD Home

Give Your Baby a GOOD Home

“A baby’s clothes are for the baby’s comfort and should be planned with that in mind and not to satisfy the mother’s longing for frills.”

Your Baby's Clothes

Your Baby’s Clothes

“Bath time, next to feeding time, is the time many mothers and babies enjoy most – and fathers, too, on Sunday mornings.  When the baby has his clothes off he is freer to stretch, to kick, and to twist, and he sometimes delights his parents with a new trick.  But although bathing is usually fun for both mother and baby, nevertheless, it needs to be done skilfully and carefully.”

How to Bathe Your Baby

How to Bathe Your Baby

“The health, happiness, and efficiency of the older child and of the adult depend largely on the habits formed in early childhood.  The habits of the little child are begun in the first year of life, some of them directly after birth.”

Habits Are Important

Habits Are Important

“The milk produced by a healthy mother contains almost everything a young baby needs for nourishment, in a form that the baby is able to digest easily.”

Breast Feeding

Breast Feeding

The baby to keep well needs not only to get the things that are good for him, but to be protected from disease.  Doctors do not know how to prevent all diseases in babies, but they do know how to prevent many diseases.  Usually the first step in preventing a disease is understanding what causes it.  When doctors understand what kind of things make babies sick, they can help mothers protect babies from those things.

I wonder if my mother thought this doctor was pointing his finger at her.

I wonder if my mother thought this doctor was pointing his finger at her.

The one and only entry that my mother put in my “Record of Development” was at the age of two weeks – I held up my head.  So….as far as my development goes over all of these years, I have kept my head held up.

I held up my head at two weeks

I held up my head at two weeks

Best, Theresa

A Mid-Twentieth Century Girl Doing Business in a 21st Century World

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Stroll Down My Mother’s Memory Lane

  1. So interesting! I always thought there should be a manual- I don’t think those books lasted long in the hospital nursery’s- they just expect new mom’s to wing it now! Love reading through this though!
    Thanks!
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

