His Master’s Voice

Source - Flickr Leo Reynolds Photostream

Source – Flickr Leo Reynolds Photostream

The year was 1906 and The Victor Talking Machine Company manufacturers and markets the first Victor Victrola. The company is located in Camden, New Jersey, which is a stone’s throw away from the town where today’s home is located.  Maybe the original owners of this home saw an advertisement and decided to buy one.

Source - ebay

Source – ebay

Source - The Victor Victrola Page

Source – The Victor Victrola Page

While browsing the internet looking for investment properties, I stumbled across this fabulous home.  While it is not a consideration for me as an investment, I couldn’t help but begin to imagine.  The home is a foursquare with a sunporch and a front porch.

Year Built - 1906

Year Built – 1906

The first thing I would do, would be to make the front porch more inviting.  I love the look of creating a warm space on a front porch by using curtains draped next to the pillars.

Source - decorpad

Source – decorpad

The living room needs up-dating.

lc278a943-m2o

What would I do?  I would keep it all neutral which gives me the ability to make it pop with color when I want to change it up.

efaaa0d0493d2d113bed076fc6a465ac

I would take advantage of the space at the other end of the living room and put in a FemShui designed office.

Perfect niche for a FemShui Design workspace

Perfect niche for a FemShui Design workspace

This is a workspace FemShui Design would do - but it was done by mysigaheestrand.com

This is a workspace FemShui Design would do – but it was done by mysigaheestrand.com

I love a home with a sunporch.

lc278a943-m6o

lc278a943-m5o

What would I do?  I would look under the carpet, with my fingers crossed, and hope that I would find wood flooring so that someone could paint it – just like this.  And then I would go furniture shopping.

Source - Homebunch.com

Source – Homebunch.com

lc278a943-m7o

Where to go with this?  I don’t have a lot of time to go shopping, so I found this dining room set ready to go.

Yes, the kitchen does need up-dating, but it is good to go for the now….it is certainly livable…..

lc278a943-m9o

lc278a943-m10o

…..but after some time, this is what I would use for my inspiration….I would do the kitchen in black and white….just like this one.

Source - thekitchn.com

Source – thekitchn.com

Yes, the kitchen nook has paneling and depending on the budget, will come off or get painted (white/cream).

lc278a943-m11o

I have seen at auction the table for this space – a vintage enamel top.

Found at an auction by Found In America (my other business - lol)

Found at an auction by Found In America (my other business – lol)

I am skipping over the family room and heading upstairs to the bath.

lc278a943-m21o

I would update the bath with a contemporary design

Source - Decorpad.com

Source – Decorpad.com

The master bedroom (I think) appears to be a pretty good size.

lc278a943-m17o lc278a943-m18olc278a943-m16oThis bedroom would be my inspiration.

House Beautiful

House Beautiful

And then….I would search the country far and wide for Nipper that I saw months ago at an auction who was bought by some lucky person.  He was manufactured sometime during the 1930’s and is the icon of His Master’s Voice.

Found and lost by Found In America

Found and lost by Found In America

Best, Theresa

A Mid-Twentieth Century Girl Doing Business in a 21st Century World

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

