Needs Improvement

I have started my internet search for a  possible investment opportunity, and found this home that is up for short sale.  The home has been on the market since April 1.  By the time I spoke to the agent, he told me it was more than likely going under contract the next day.  Oh well!  Not that I am ready to buy yet, but I already invested time thinking about this home….so I will post what I put together.

The house - a craftsman bungalow

The house – a craftsman bungalow

The back of the house and the sides are stucco, so I am guessing the front is also.  The brick is not attractive to me.  Look how cute this house is with the front of the porch painted yellow and the steps painted white – makes a big difference!

craftsman_bungalow_large

Source – Margot’s Corner Blog

Welcome In

Welcome In

I do like the look of painting the steps.  Also, the hallway looks pretty narrow (can’t really tell).  To be on the safe side, I would only hang a gallery of artwork with no furniture underneath.

2eca3465d9e2a13782644090625217e3

Source – Houzz

26cf6ff1449ba3cbe878661605c63282

Source – eclecticrevisited blog

Notice in the first picture, the french doors on the right.  From what I can piece together, this home has a center hall, and this living room is to the right when you walk in.

A clock

A clock

A fireplace

A fireplace

Let’s give this house a breath of some coastal air

f57709f1100d312a7f11f1c5a412a343

Source – Restylinghomebykelly Blog

Notice the french doors again in the dining room, AND the Christmas tree in the living room.  These photos were taken April 1, but I can’t go throwing stones, because I still have not put all of my Christmas decorations away.

Dining room is not ready for guests

Dining room is not ready for guests

l51d01f44-m9o

Again, let’s bring the seabreeze into the dining room.

cafea267af22cb2f64a6499981a4c2bdSource – Coastal Living

Built-in breakfast nooks were somewhat typical in this style home.

l51d01f44-m8o

Much Nicer!!! Source - ths.garden web blog

Much Nicer!!!
Source – ths.garden web blog

l51d01f44-m7o

137a743e85145cd30be6c9e1c80bf22bSource – homebunch.com

Let’s travel upstairs to the bath.  From this one and only picture of the bath, we can kinda get the idea of what it looks like.

l51d01f44-m17o

I would much prefer to see this.

3558ef93041ff154af95561afa57aaf2

Source – decorpad.com

I am going to bypass the bedrooms and go right up to the attic.

l51d01f44-m20o

Looks like there may be room for a bed.

I think it works

I think it works – well maybe not, but it looks pretty

Source – Country Living

The back of the house (obviously).

l51d01f44-m2o

I think it would look much more invting like this.

3906115291a52176ac04f2714ca5de01

Source – Juniper River Home Design

Best, Theresa – A Mid Twentieth Century Girl Doing Business in a 21st Century World

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

